Collaborative Electric Aggregation for Kettering Residents and Small Businesses

Posted on June 27, 2023

Open House Opportunities

July 17 from 6:30 to 8:30 p.m. – Charles I. Lathrem Center, 2900 Glengarry Drive, Kettering

July 18 from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m. – Sinclair Community College Centerville Campus, 5800 Clyo Road, Centerville

Miami Valley Communications Council (MVCC) leads the charge for electric aggregation. As a participating community, Kettering residents and small businesses could save an average of $350 each year on energy bills.

Harbor Energy was awarded a 28-month supplier contract for residential and small commercial customers at a rate of 0.0657 cents/kWh. This is significantly lower than the current AES Ohio rate of 0.1081 cents/kWh.

Electric aggregation gives communities better bargaining power through economies of scale. The 11 communities participating in the MVCC program represent more than 80,000 electric meters belonging to households and businesses.

Eligible customers will soon receive an opt-out letter in the mail with simple instructions to follow if they do not want to participate. This information will also be shared through newsletters, community websites and social media.

All customers who do not opt-out will be added to the program. Customers can opt-out at any time with no termination fee or can join the program when existing supplier contracts expire.

Customers also have the option of paying a slightly higher rate – $0.0697 cents/kWh – to purchase 100% green energy from Energy Harbor. This is offered as an opt-in rate running concurrently with the standard opt-out program.

Residents and small businesses in the voluntary aggregation programs will continue to receive monthly invoices and distribution services from AES Ohio. If they have a power outage, those customers will still call the local utility company that is providing distribution services. By participating in the aggregation program, residents and business consumers are simply choosing an alternative supplier.

Communities participating in the MVCC electric aggregation program include Centerville, Clayton, Englewood, Fairborn, Germantown, Kettering, Miamisburg, Moraine, Trotwood, Vandalia and West Carrollton. The communities of Brookville, Eaton and Union will join the program in the near future.

Participants should receive their first energy bill with prices reflecting the aggregation program in September or October.

Frequently Asked Questions are addressed at

Close window